Already tomorrow in Hong Kong [movie I love]

Maybe, don’t wait for the timing to be right and you make it right on your own – Bryan Greenberg.

A short content of ”Already tomorrow in Hong Kong” (2016):

A beautiful Chinese American girl visits Hong Kong for the first time and accidentally meets an American expat who lives there for 10 year. They enjoyed a night-long ”walk and talk” in glamorous Hong Hong twice. The movie content is all about the question: What happens if you meet the right person at the wrong time? (the question of is the timing right, or is it not?)

hero_Its-Already-Tomorrow-Hong-Kong-2016

First of all, I have to say that I am a romantic person, easy to fall in love with cheesy love stories/movies. And Already tomorrow in Hong Kong is my new movie in that list. I just write some of my thoughts about this movie in English because I am trying to practise my English again.

I smiled from the beginning of this movie till the end because of Ruby and Josh’s cute and funny talks. They are just strangers but somehow they know about each other and have that feeling. The movie is so romantic, sweet and charming as written in Rogerebert website: “The dialogue, charmingly delivered by the two leads, remains on a surface jokey level“. (1)

The dialogue here is the talks that both Ruby and Josh enjoy along the way the lost in neon-gleam glamour of Hong Kong. Josh complain about how dissatisfied he is about his finance job and really want to be a novelist. After listening to Ruby’s inspirational speech about taking chances, Josh actually quit his job and become a freelancer. Ruby, a toy-designer, dreams to be a fashion designer and have her own store.

Unfortunately, Ruby and Josh meet each other at the wrong time when one of them has a relationship either the first time or the second time. Bryan (leading actor) said in one of movie trailer that it like a love letter to Hong Kong. Story is about 2 people fall in love with each other when they fall in love with Hong Kong but the timing isn’t really right.

However, that is not really a helpless situation. “And it was very defining. I don’t remember every time I meet everybody, but I remember the first time with Jamie. I think that’s what attracted us to this film because we could really relate to the stop-start of it all and the question of is the timing right, or is it not? Maybe, don’t wait for the timing to be right and you make it right on your own”,  Bryan said. (2)

The ending is not the one I thought that Ruby and Josh will get married and live happily ever after like a fairy tale. They look at each other in a cab and just feel sorry for themselves and their spouses also. May I say that’s real life we are living in.

For those who love romantic movies like me, take a cup of hot chocolate/coffee and turn on your laptop to enjoy this lightly sweet love story.

(sorry for my incorrect grammar and vocabulary, I am working on it).

Chimom, 1.46 AM, 4/5/2017.

One thought on “Already tomorrow in Hong Kong [movie I love]

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑